Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 SSIS and Import/Export (2008)
 import csv files to SQL table using T-SQL

Author  Topic 

ziggy2015
Starting Member

11 Posts

Posted - 2015-04-01 : 07:54:42
Hello,
I am new to sql server programming. My problem is this:

I want to import csv file from a folder in a different domain to sql server stagging table in another network.

How do I declare variables for UserID and Password and database to allow sql server read files in the csv folder.

I want to use dynamic SQL and after import then, move files to archive folder.

Hope I explained myself

Thanks

gbritton
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

2780 Posts

Posted - 2015-04-01 : 09:14:18
This sounds like a job for SSIS.

Under what account will the import run? If under the same account as that running the database engine, then *that* account needs permission to access the network share.
Go to Top of Page

ziggy2015
Starting Member

11 Posts

Posted - 2015-04-01 : 09:23:08
Hello
No. It is a different account. The folder has an account, the ssis is on different domain ad well ad sql server.
Thanks
Go to Top of Page

gbritton

2780 Posts

Posted - 2015-04-01 : 09:24:59
OK -- so the account under which the import will run needs to be a domain account with access to the network share holding the csv file.

I find it hard to believe that there is no SQL server in the domain where the import will run that does not have SSIS installed. Ask your DBA.
Go to Top of Page

ziggy2015
Starting Member

11 Posts

Posted - 2015-04-02 : 09:14:12
Hello

But, if I use ssis package how do I get the file name? The file name is always changing every month. Please help
Go to Top of Page

gbritton

2780 Posts

Posted - 2015-04-02 : 10:30:10
Are the files dropped in a consistent shared folder or do they have a consistent naming convention?