Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2005 Forums
 Analysis Server and Reporting Services (2005)
 User defined reports

Author  Topic 

repairer
Starting Member

8 Posts

Posted - 2015-02-04 : 06:12:13
Hi,

First off, sorry if this is worded/explained incorrectly.

I am not too technical or familiar with SQL2005 Enterprise

I run a web application that users can use to run/manage their business, included in this is a suite of reports.

At the moment all the reports are "pre set" in the system, if that is the best word to describe, so effectively the users can only run the reports we offer them.

before I approach the developers who do our development I thought I would try get some advice from users of this forum, my question is..

Could I have reporting function within my web application that would allow a user to "build" their own report? so the user would decide on what data is produced within the report? this would be within reason as I know if it is possible and I allowed large reports to be produced it might "flatten" system resources.

Is it possible? if it is, is it something that is within SQL2005 or is it a third party product.

Hope I explained this so it makes sense.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Pete

sz1
Aged Yak Warrior

555 Posts

Posted - 2015-02-04 : 06:20:52
If you are using full SQL product why not use SSRS reporting services and enable/allow the report builder for users to create their own reports via the reporting services site. If they logon to AD they can run report builder local too and publish direct to a specified folder area.

Otherwise for BI you could use SSAS cubes and allow reporting thru Excel and PowerView, although you need SharePoint to run, Power View is now a feature of Microsoft Excel 2013.

We are the creators of our own reality!
Go to Top of Page

repairer