Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 SQL Server Development (2000)
 Database Normalization is overrated.

Author  Topic 

00kevin
Yak Posting Veteran

78 Posts

Posted - 2004-11-02 : 17:57:30
Now that I've been developing databases for 10 years. I'm starting to realize that a completely normalized database is far too complex to work with. Sure, it all works and looks great on paper, but it basically becomes a castle made of cards. If you change one table the entire database application can break.

I've noticed that some front end database applications change so frequently that normalization can't handle it.

Consider a very simple example of an invoice receipt system.
A simple solution would be to make three tables.

CUSTOMER
INVOICE
RECEIPT

If I was to follow standard database normalization rules the database would link like this.

CUSTOMER.customer_id
CUSTOMER.customer_name

INVOICE.invoice_id
INVOICE.customer_id
INVOICE.amount

RECEIPT.receipt_id
RECEIPT.invoice_id
RECEIPT.amount

under this design, if I wanted to find out who owns a receipt I would join with the receipt table with the invoice table and then look up the customer.

This however will lead you down a design nightmare with a large database. You will have Views built on top of other Views or join statements that are just insane and hard to manage.
A better design would be something like this.

CUSTOMER.customer_id
CUSTOMER.customer_name

INVOICE.invoice_id
INVOICE.customer_id
INVOICE.amount

RECEIPT.receipt_id
RECEIPT.customer_id
RECEIPT.invoice_id
RECEIPT.amount