Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2012 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2012)
 Adding records to table

Author  Topic 

samyer
Starting Member

15 Posts

Posted - 2013-02-05 : 13:36:32
Hello,
I am new to SQL. I have a VB and C background. I have 3000 users in a database. In this database I have a table (dbo.Users) in which each user record has columns for various user information that gets entered manually from a UI. One of these columns (GroupID) indicates whether or not a user belongs to a specific user group (designated 1, 2...). A user can belong to more than one user group. In this application I have about 40 users who presently belong to group 1. I need to add records for all of the other users to put them in group 2. I need to automate the process rather than manually enter 3000 new records. A user may have one or more records, with a different number in the GroupID column. I need to scan through dbo.User, and write a new record to the table in question with the new group # in the GroupID column for each user. I know how to do this in VB but I'm just learning T-SQL. Any suggestions on how to proceed? Thanks in advance!!

James K
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

3873 Posts

Posted - 2013-02-05 : 14:23:12
You said "add" records to the table. Did you really want to ADD or did you want to UPDATE the existing records which have no GroupID? The rest of this post assumes you want to update.

If a user has two records, both of which are currently NULL (i.e., not defined) do you want both of those records to be updated to have GroupId = 2? If that is the case, the update statement can be as simple as this:
UPDATE YourTable SET
GroupId = 2
WHERE
GroupId IS NULL;
Before you run this run a select statement
SELECT * FROM YourTable WHERE GroupId IS NULL;