Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Problem with Reporting services

Author  Topic 

amirssid
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2012-12-19 : 18:47:36
Hi
I am new to SQL Server. I have recently learned SQL server basic database architecture, the T-SQL language and some tools including SSIS and SSRS. I have one problem with reporting services, as given below:

When I install and setup SSRS, everything seems to be installed successfully and there is no problem. But when I go to browser and try to load report manager page "http://localhost:port/reports", it asks for a user name and password. When I give my Windows user name (which has administrative privileges), the page comes only with some title information (like "Microsoft SQL Server Reporting Services"), but I cannot do anything, as there are no links for "Report Builder", or "Data Source", ..etc.

If in user name, I give a service account (LocalSystem, LocalService, NetworkService, under which SSRS is run), then I get an error saying "you do not have the required privileges". In either case I cannot do anything on this page !!! can somebody please help me telling what I am doing wrong? and, how can I fix this problem?

Thanks in advance.

AmirSidd

sunitabeck
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

5155 Posts

Posted - 2012-12-19 : 19:29:40
See if either of the workarounds on this connect page helps
Go to Top of Page

amirssid
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2012-12-19 : 23:49:52
Those workarounds didn't work. Actually the problem is; "what username and password should I give in the login dialog box which comes immediately when the report manager page loads ?"