Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 Other Forums
 MS Access
 simple sql statement problem

Author  Topic 

Photoshopgod
Starting Member

10 Posts

Posted - 2004-07-01 : 11:23:53
HI,

I'm just learning sql and asp and have a simple question.

I have a database in access 2000.
I have two tables called table1 and table2 (I'll make this as simple as possible)
I have a page called page1.asp which views all the clients info.

table1 is the main table that will always have info in it. table2 has additional info that may not always have info related to the client. page1.asp needs to display info from both table1 and table2 regardless of whether or not there is information in table2. I have fields in both table1 and table2 that contains the custID for the client which are named custID.

Here is the simple sql statement I started with:

strsql = "SELECT * FROM table1, table2 WHERE custID = " & tkey

tkey is the custID brought from another form.

Obviously this generates an error. Any guidance would be much appreciated.

RickD
Slow But Sure Yak Herding Master

3608 Posts

Posted - 2004-07-01 : 11:38:05
[code]
SELECT * FROM table1 t1
left join table2 t2 on t2.custID = t1.custID
where custID = " & tkey
[/code]
Go to Top of Page

Photoshopgod
Starting Member

10 Posts

Posted - 2004-07-01 : 12:46:35
Hi RickD,

Thanks for the quick reply. I implemented your statement (below with actual names) and got the following error:

strsql = "SELECT * FROM tblCustomers tblCustomers left join tblParents tblParents on tblParents.custID = tblCustomers.custID WHERE custID = " & tkey

The specified field 'custID' could refer to more than one table listed in the FROM clause of your SQL statement