Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2012 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2012)
 question about certification exam

Author  Topic 

joe8079
Posting Yak Master

127 Posts

Posted - 2013-09-29 : 10:05:55
I'm about to take the sql server 70-461 exam in December and I'm studying for it now. So far, i'm comfortable with almost all the topics except for the xml and spacial data section which I never use any of that stuff and its the hardest to focus on and memorize. My question is if I'm comfortable with all other aspects of this exam could I actually skip those two sections and still pass the exam with a 700?

James K
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

3873 Posts

Posted - 2013-09-29 : 10:39:56
It is difficult to answer that question. I have taken the test. There are about 40 or 50 questions, which comprise of six or seven groups of questions. Each group will be from one sub topic - such as windowing functions, xml, query optimization etc. Each group will have six to eight questions. My impression is that they have 15 or 20 sub topics and the six or seven you are asked are perhaps randomly selected. In my test, xml happened to be one of the topics with about be 7 or 8 questions. That might happen to you, or it may not.

So I would be reluctant to do the test without a thorough understanding of xml. You don't have to memorize. Learn the concepts and practice. A superficial knowledge won't be sufficient to answer xml questions.

All of what I said is based on one data point, namely my taking the exam. I did not try to gain any insight into probable questions through any nefarious means, so I might be completely wrong in my analysis of the patterns and subject matter of the questions.
Go to Top of Page

Lamprey

4614 Posts

Posted - 2013-10-01 : 14:57:28