Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Basic Query Help

Author  Topic 

jrobin747
Starting Member

48 Posts

Posted - 2013-07-05 : 12:19:49
I'm new to SQL
I'm SQL Server Manager 2008
I have to write a query that gets a list of all the records from DataLinkMerhcants that have an ApplicationID <>0 where Assignedto is NULL or is 0

I'm doing something incorrectly. I get a red squiggly line under the last 0 (zero) in the query

This is what typed
SELECT dbo.DatalinkMerchant.ApplicationID,dbo.DatalinkMerchant.AssignedTo
FROM dbo.DatalinkMerchant
WHERE ApplicationID <>0 AND AssignedTo=NULL OR 0

MuMu88
Aged Yak Warrior

549 Posts

Posted - 2013-07-05 : 12:24:52
[CODE]

WHERE ApplicationID <>0 AND (AssignedTo IS NULL OR
AssignedTo = 0)
[/CODE]

quote:
Originally posted by jrobin747

I'm new to SQL
I'm SQL Server Manager 2008
I have to write a query that gets a list of all the records from DataLinkMerhcants that have an ApplicationID <>0 where Assignedto is NULL or is 0

I'm doing something incorrectly. I get a red squiggly line under the last 0 (zero) in the query

This is what typed
WHERE ApplicationID <>0 AND AssignedTo=NULL OR 0

Go to Top of Page

jrobin747
Starting Member

48 Posts

Posted - 2013-07-05 : 12:49:51
So I understand, why did you use parenthesis? Did you have to? Could it have been done another way. This is new to me.

(AssignedTo IS NULL OR
AssignedTo = 0)

Go to Top of Page

James K
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

3873 Posts

Posted - 2013-07-05 : 13:01:38