Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 Database Design and Application Architecture
 Database Design suggestions

Author  Topic 

Shep
Starting Member

19 Posts

Posted - 2013-07-03 : 10:34:02
I am relatively new to programming but do understand the concepts.
A friend of mine owns a house rental company and asked me to build a site that has many functions. Those functions will be:
(Phase One) Have all the houses in the database but only show the available houses on the site.
(Phase Two) Online application. When in a detailed view of the house, click a "Apply Now" button and that house info in imported into the application.
(Phase Three or even later) Renters can log in and pay rent, report a service call, or other renters needs

Thats the most of what it needs to do.

I need suggestions on how to create the database. For example, what items should pull out of the main table.
I could probably build the house stuff in one table but I dont think it is recommended.
Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advanced,
JS

J.E.Shepler

James K
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

3873 Posts

Posted - 2013-07-03 : 10:48:44
My initial thoughts (just about the houses, not the rest of the stuff) is to start with 2 or 3 tables like this:

1. Houses. This would have columns like, UnitId (primary key, perhaps an internally generated number), Address, Building Number, NumberOfRooms etc. In other words all the data relating to that entity, regardless of whether it is rented out or not. An additional column that indicates whether the unit is currently available or not.

2. Rentals. This would have information about the rental status of each unit. UnitId (from Houses table), RenterID, LeaseStartDate, LeaseEndDate, etc.