Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2008)
 Questions on resources and removing instances

Author  Topic 

the_importer
Starting Member

1 Post

Posted - 2013-06-17 : 09:31:05
Hi there,

I've been working with SQL Databases for over 5 years now. Prior to this job, I has no working knowledge of SQL in general, so everything I've learned, I did by trial and error. I work for an accounting software company and last summer, we've introduced a SaaS solution to allow our customers (who subscribed to this service) to use the software on a remote virtual machine using an RDP connexion.

To concept is as follow, we have 2 virtual machine for the software (a mid version and a high version of the software) as well as dedicated virtual machines for SQL servers. We're up to our 3rd SQL server now since we've respected the 50 instances limit rule for stand-alone SQL server. Each instance belongs to a customer with his security group in it to prevent the other customers to see his databases.

We're using terminal licences because they are rather cost effective and that in the fee that we charge our customers, that cost is included. If we were to use individual virtual machines for each SQL instance, we would need to full Windows licences and that would cost more and we would need to charge the customers a lot more than $35 a month (per user).

Also, we are using SQL 2008 R2 Express, not the commercial version. We are using the free version also for cost measures but also because our mid-version software is only compatible with SQL Express (per design) and since we don't want to separate the SQL servers based on our software version, it's best to use SQL Express since it's compatible for both our mid and high version.