Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2012 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2012)
 Windows Authentication Login Creation issue

Author  Topic 

Scott85730
Starting Member

7 Posts

Posted - 2013-05-11 : 02:29:37
I am very new to administering SQL Server 2012. I am starting to study for the Certification Exam 70-462. One of the very first things I tried to do was to create a Windows Login for SQL Server (I had always used sa up to this point).

Of course I immediately ran into issues. I'm not sure why SQL Server is not finding my Windows Login?

Here is a screen capture showing both the Windows Login ("Scott"), and the attempted creation of the SQL Server Windows Authentication - hopefully someone can lead me in the right direction?

All help appreciated.

Thank you.

Scott MacDonald
Tucson, AZ

russell
Pyro-ma-ni-yak

5072 Posts

Posted - 2013-05-11 : 03:25:02
Try changing location to Entire Directory
Go to Top of Page

Scott85730
Starting Member

7 Posts

Posted - 2013-05-11 : 11:23:59
Unfortunately that doesn't seem to be a choice ... "FROGROOM-PC" is the only choice (long story on the computer name here ;) )

s
Go to Top of Page

James K
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

3873 Posts

Posted - 2013-05-11 : 16:41:44
Click Advanced button, and then "Find Now" button. That should give you a list of all the valid Windows users.
Go to Top of Page

Scott85730
Starting Member

7 Posts

Posted - 2013-05-11 : 17:26:20
Thank you - I did not know about that one.

The screenshot is below - I'm seeing most everything EXCEPT my login.

Very strange.

Go to Top of Page

Scott85730
Starting Member

7 Posts

Posted - 2013-05-11 : 17:37:05